My Persecution as a Believing Jew: YouTube Video

Rabbi Jonathan Bernis

Rabbi Jonathan Bernis

By Rabbi Jonathan Bernis,
Jewish Voice

When I became a Believer, I had true persecution. The rabbi persecuted me; he called me a Nazi. I went to the rabbi because the Bible says to honor your father and mother and my parents, particularly mother, told me, “We really care about this decision. You really hurt us and we want to ask you to do something for us.”

So, one of the things they asked me to do was to go see the rabbi. The rabbi listened to my argument and when he felt I had talked enough, didn’t listen to a word I said. He started in on the guilt focus: “Do you know what your grandfather would be doing right now? He would be rolling over in his grave if he knew what you had done. He would have died to keep you from believing this.”

There is a follow-up letter that I saved somewhere and it said, “Just as the Nazis sought to destroy us physically, you seek to destroy our people’s virtue by believing in Jesus,” which is a typical response of Jewish people because they only know the Christian who put them in the concentration camp. They only know the Christian who marched through Europe during the Crusade period with a cross ahead of their armies destroying Jewish communities. So, of course, there is this negative response.

It was very painful for the rabbi to say this: “You are no longer us, you are them. Worse than them, you are really them trying to destroy us.”

There was a lot of persecution, Jewish people who were very hurtful to me in those early years. I have to say that has always continued. When you do outreaches and directly confront Jewish People with the Gospel, you are always going to have angry people and persecution.

But you reach a place in the Lord where you know that the only thing that matters is to please God. If God is for me, who can be against me?

Jewish Voice Ministries International

Share Share

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Jeffrey

     /  June 29, 2010

    Have you ever considered talking to the Jewish people of the genealogy of Jesus, starting with Genesis 1:1 and connecting each person that is a direct link to His birth. This would tell the history of what has happened to the people of Israel from the beginning to the present, show how He has always been looking out for them, show that He cares deeply for them, and show beyond any reasonable doubt, that Jesus is their awaited Messiah. Hoping that this would open people’s eyes to the truth, and cause change.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

